Márcio Faraco – Smooth Vocals & Innovative Style

Márcio Faraco is a Brazilian born singer, composer, producer and guitar player. After many years of living and working in Brazil, Faraco decided to leave the country for Paris, France where he has lived, with his wife, ever since. He has released four albums since living there.Márcio Faraco

“Influenced by Brazilian masters Chico Buarque, Milton Nascimento, João Gilberto, and Caetano Veloso, Faraco goes one step further and brings in his innovative style to Brazilian samba, baião, and toada. With his smooth vocals and sometimes even reminiscing of his idols, Faraco’s voice is refreshing.” – From Musicabrasileira.org

I strongly recommend any one of his albums as they are all great (I own all of them).

Here’s a guy on Youtube doing one of Márcio’s beautifully written songs (and title of his 1st solo album) which is also one of my favorites, called Ciranda (circle dance).

Portuguese

Ciranda – Márcio Faraco

Se tento correr o tempo pára
Se páro pra ver o mundo anda
Ele vem bater na minha cara
A vida é sempre essa ciranda

Se a noite me traz uma tristeza
O dia vem cheio de alegria
O que falo agora com certeza
Há pouco não sei se eu diria

Eu quero gritar ninguém me escuta
Está tudo preso na garganta
Às vezes me cansa tanta luta
E é pra não chorar que a gente canta

A gente canta
A gente canta

Eu vi uma luz no fim do túnel
Enchi de esperança o coração
A luz que lá estava foi chegando
Era um trem carregado de ilusão

Andando só na corda bamba
Não temo o futuro da nação
A gente que sempre dançou samba
Enfrenta qualquer divisão

A gente canta
A gente canta

English

Circle Dance

If I try to run, the world stops
If I stop to see, the world goes
It comes and hits me in my face
Life is always like a circle dance

If the night brings me sadness
The day comes full of happiness
What I say now with confidence
I don’t know if I would say later

I want to scream, no one listens
Everything is stuck in my throat
Sometimes I tire of so much fighting
We sing so that we don’t have to cry

We sing
We sing

I saw a light at the end of the tunnel
It filled my heart with hope
The light that was there was now arriving
It was a train full of illusions

Only walking on a tight-rope
I don’t fear the future of the nation
We that always danced the samba
Can face any kind of division

We sing
We sing

One thought on “Márcio Faraco – Smooth Vocals & Innovative Style

  1. Pingback: Brazil and France - Musical ties « Eyes On Brazil

Leave a Reply

