Training your Ears with the News

While my main focus has always been Brazilian Portuguese, lately I have been getting into the European variety to the extent that I am going to stretch this blog’s focus to include it. A good way to start is by understanding some of the practical differences as well as that which is not always obvious. As an added bonus in this digital age we live in, there’s no need to go to Portugal or to seek out a Portuguese person if you wish to hear them speak.

Expresso is a Portuguese daily and it happens to have a good stream of video reports that anyone can listen to for free. Likewise, O Globo has a multimedia section where, on the righthand side, one can see their video selection. Preferably, I would like to find a variety of Brazilian news sites that offer actual reports in their video section like Diário do Pará’s Youtube channel. If you know of some, let me know!

3 thoughts on “Training your Ears with the News

  1. I used to watch a lot of Azorean & Madeiran clips. Here’s the main page

    http://www.rtp.pt/homepage/

    You’ll find links to their Azorean & Madeiran stations, there’s also African too. I’ve listened to the African one before, don’t remember much but the Azorean & Madeiran is slightly different from Continental Portuguese. My Portuguese friend and my old Portuguese (carioca) professor claim to have a very hard time understanding Azoreans.

  2. Cool, thank you! Perhaps it’s cause Azoreans whistle! Or at least I thought they did…the whistling language is called Silbo Gomero and it’s from the Canary Islands of Spain. For a second, I confused it with the Azores.

    There are many Azoreans here in California and my father and grandparents come from a traditionally Azorean town, although they have no ties to the Azores.

    http://wwwlibrary.csustan.edu/bsantos/calif.html

  3. Wow, I didn’t realize while reading through your Continental Portg. section that I replied here 3 years ago.

    I was told many, many years ago by my Portuguese aunt that our family was from Madeira. She was wrong, as this past January I found after researching that our family is Azorean and they were from Graciosa island in the Azores, having migrated in 1882, my great-grandfather was just 2 years old as they left Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores.

Leave a Reply

