Até as By – Vocabulary

To me, até, which is normally used to mean ‘until’, will always and primarily mean just that. Over the last few years, I’ve come across another meaning which is ‘by’, as in ‘Fisk planeja gerar 500 empregos até dezembro‘ (Fisk plans to generate 500 jobs by December). Again, to me, that sounds like Fisk, a language school chain, will somehow generate 500 jobs until the month of December comes, at which point I wonder what will happen to those jobs. Apparently, for all my vocabulary and training, there are some things that still try to trip me up.

Here are the uses of até according to Babylon,

’till, until, by, up to, to, as far as, even’

Leave a Reply

