Favela On Blast – Documentary

So I caught Favela On Blast last night, a new and interesting documentary on funk music. As those who have read my opinion on funk here before know, it’s not my favorite and mainly for one reason. If you watch the documentary at some point or if you’ve ever heard a funk song, you’d know that women are basically seen as trash. I know that’s a harsh word but what I mean by that is that women are treated as mere sexual objects, good only for recreating explicitly sexual acts on the dance floor or on the stage.

Then, you have the children. They grow up seeing this and hearing it in the lyrics and what are the girls to think or hope for? If favela is about community, then why alienate half its population, making them be treated (and teaching them to behave) as prostitutes for entertainment?

My opinion has nothing to do with the many other factors of the industry, movement or culture of funk. There are funk songs I enjoy which are mainly those that are more ‘old school’, that speak of the hard life in the favelas, of social injustice, etc. Part of Favela On Blast surprised me because I saw some older funk singers whose songs were peppered with samba which made for a sort of modern-style funk-influenced samba. If you enjoyed other funk documentaries (I think I’ve seen them all), then you’ll enjoy this one, if not just for the sociological aspect.

Leave a Reply

