Eyes On Brazil – My 1,000th Post

It’s been two and a half years since I started this blog. I’ve tried to keep it focused on topics of interest to both my readers and myself, and more importantly, to not fall into the trap of only posting stories of all too common topics. I passed 300,000 views not too long ago, which means 16,000/month currently, and I’m hoping that number only climbs higher. Not too shabby, eh?

I thank everyone for their contributions, both to my blog and to the world of Brazil-blogging in English. I can only say that things will just get crazier from here on out since Brazil is now a major player in many areas and everyone will want their piece (or at least a taste). Hopefully in the not-too-distant future, I’ll have my own small piece (of land, that is).

Time to down that last shot in my bottle of cachaça from Minas. Here’s to a new bottle and another 1,000 posts!

Tin-Tin!

14 thoughts on “Eyes On Brazil – My 1,000th Post

  1. Congrats Dude, you deserve it. You keep us informed of what’s going on in Brazil in a very non – confrontational writing style which makes the tough (and fuuny) subjects you write about so easy to read.

    I’m glad to be one of the ‘new’ blogers for the next 1000! (And not to be so confrontational in my posts to EOB!)

    Can anyone give me directions on how to post my pic/avatar? Thanks in advance.

    • Thanks, Ty! Between you and I…and well, anyone else reading the comments, I’m looking at how to make Eyes On Brazil into a magazine of sorts and to make the blog a supplement to the magazine. It will take much planning but I think I’ve got a good headstart.

      As for the avatar, I think that is gravatar.com that allows for that.

      Cheers!

  2. As usual, my spelling sucks. As to the virtual magazine, wonderful idea. With your salesmanship I’m sure you will get many a multinational businesses that will want to advertise on the mag.

    And with the attached blog it will be a gentle reminder to open up the mag and read it every time there is a new post.

    I have no problem letting you know right here and now that I would like to invest in you and the new Eyes On Brazil magazine financially. Ever hear of the Brazilian who invested in Face Book? Thought so.

    • Thank you for the support! Yeah, that Brazilian guy is a billionaire, I believe, and under 30! Right now, I’m the translator for Estilo Bay (estilobay.com), a Brazilian magazine in the San Francisco Bay Area and I’m starting as a columnist at Street Smart Brazil next week, also a Brazilian outfit here in the Bay Area. If I can juggle everything well, the first issue might be out by December 1st. We’ll see!

  3. Congrats on the sites success. It is a great feeling to see the visitor count rise and rise. Another testimony to “content is king”.

    • Thanks, Sara. Well, if I were bigger, like a company, I’d surely sponser get-togethers and events. There’s Meetup.com for getting together and in San Francisco, there’s a Brazilian Portuguese group that is pretty good.

Leave a Reply

