The Famous “Depois” – Phrases

I love how certain words in other languages require one to ‘read between the lines’. To me, ‘depois’ (after) is one of those and Brazilians are famous for saying it. There’s what it means and then there’s what it probably means.

Imagine a situation where someone has offered me something or asked me to do something. If I respond with “depois eu faço” or in the case of food, “depois eu como”, what I’m most likely doing is being polite in my refusal or at least in the uncertainty that I will, in fact, do the thing in question.

There’s another way to use depois, which I feel like I’ve discussed here before (yet a search of my posts reveals nothing). After just doing a Google search for “depois eu que sou…” to come up with an example to use, I saw “depois eu que sou a bêbada!” This is basically a way to say “…and they call me a drunk!” (or “…and I’m the one that get’s called a drunk!”) One can presume that the conversation was about person A drinking but then it is found out that person B seems to drink a lot more so person A would say the phrase. Get it?

Post-edit: For more on this, see Danielle In Brazil‘s post.

6 thoughts on “The Famous “Depois” – Phrases

    • I’m not sure there is a problem, but I think you mean you don’t understand why using ‘depois’ that way deserves mention. If so, it’s because it’s unique and interesting for foreigners to know. In English, we’d say something like “yeah, later” but saying that isn’t polite.

  1. Fun! I’ve never noticed this second use of “depois”. I’m gonna listen for it now. After you wrote about “o bicho tá pegando”, I heard it the next day.

    But I think it’s important to note that “depois” can be “later” or “after”, like you translated it in your comment to Fabio. My students don’t know when to use them, and they use “after” too much, saying things like “I’ll call you after”. So I teach that “after” is “depois de que” (because you have to say “after [something]”), but “depois” in general is “later”. :)

  2. That’s so true! May I correct something on the second example?

    Usually the sentence asks for a preposition “que”:
    “Depois eu que sou (a) bêbada.” I’m saying that because I have never heard this use of “Depois” without this “que”. Brazilians say that every time when comparing their actions to another’s.

    • Thanks, Jonas. I was thinking about that “que” when I was writing the example but I disregarded it when I found the example on Hebe (Carmargo)’s Twitter, lol. I’ll add it anyways. Regards

Leave a Reply

