O Meu Amor – Lula Pena

I can’t get enough of Lula Pena, a Portuguese singer, who I’ve noticed does covers of some Brazilian songs. O Meu Amor by Chico Buarque, below, is one of those cases. Some say she sings fado but being a lover of fado, I see a distinction. Lula Pena does hauntingly beautiful renditions and if you can get your hands on her albums, Phados or Troubador, you’ll find more like the song below.

Here’s Chico’s version, though the recording quality and background instruments made it so-so, in my book. Also, you can read a little on her over at Eyes On Portugal.

5 thoughts on “O Meu Amor – Lula Pena

  1. Adam, In my never ending quest to learn Portuguese, why in that language is “O meu Amor” used to say “My Love”? When I translate that sentence in my head (trying not to use Google translate, I read “The My Love”, but I know intuitively that it is actually “My Love”. If you help me out on this, I’ll buy you a cup of coffee next time I’m in SF.

    • Sure. Well, taking a cue from the Sonia-Portuguese site,

      “The definite article is used before nouns, countries, continents, rivers, islands, regions, seasons of the year, days of the week, colors, possessive pronouns, parts of the body, titles and even before names in some regions of Brazil. It specifies the noun and at the same time it indicates its gender and number. The definite article is more frequently used in Portuguese than in English.”

      In the case of “O Meu Amor”, the definite article is specifying the possessive pronoun ‘meu’. The only way, as I can think of it, that the definite article would not be used in such a case is when you are speaking to ‘your love’ (girlfriend, wife, etc., as opposed to your love for something…like ‘my love of reading’). Ex. “Meu amor, preciso de você.” Though, if you were speaking of that person, or love of something, to someone else, you would likely use the definite article in front of ‘meu’. While I’ve never been a grammar-geek, I try to combine a bit of grammar lessons with more than a bit of practical use through exposing myself to the language. Meaning, it’s possible I can be corrected. In any event, I’ll see if Fábio can give a specific explanation.

  2. Yes Adam, you are right.
    Although I never have thought about it before.
    We use “o” when we are talking about it. I understand ‘o meu amor’ in this song as ‘my lover’, the person you’re in love with.

  3. Thanks for your input Fabio, but it seems the more I learn, the more confused I get. But that’s okay too because it makes me open a book and learn. When I go to my Larousse Dicionário Avançado Português/Ingles I see that the word for lover is amante which to me is an action of sexual partners. The word for love in the same dictionary is amor which to me is a powerful emotion. But the phrase making love to put the word amor in another context, well you see the confusion. But I guess that is what makes life so interesting.

    Ahh, if only I had the time to take some of Sonia’s classes. But between work and going to school at night it’s not an option right know.

Leave a Reply

