LFB – Oh, Great…”Black Friday”

The fact that Brazilians now use the term “Black Friday” scares me. Yet another americanism based in consumerism that will alter the behavior of Brazilians. Whatever they would have done tomorrow, they will now replace that behavior with going shopping. I don’t even want to ask nor hear how “Black Friday” is pronounced in Portuguese…

On top of all of it, it’s a well-known practice to jack up the “original” prices on items in order to make the discount seem larger and therefore close the sale.

_____________

While we’re on the topic of americanisms, it seemed a good time to do this.

I’ve now been hearing the odd-sounding mutation of “freelancer” (which is “freelã”…yes, I said free-la with a nasal accent) and “home office” (meaning someone who works from home, or as it could easily be said in Portuguese, “trabalho em domicílio”). So yeah, if you use the Portuguese term for the latter, either you’ll be thought a maid (though that’s less likely these days) or it’ll be understood that you work from home. Btw, these two terms I’ve been poking fun at actually describe the kind of work that I do. I’m not making fun of those who work this way.

Ok, time for a fun sentence creation! “Eu trabalho como freelaahn com homey officey. Já que eu faço meu próprio horário, vou aproveitar o Blackey Fri-y-day-y“.

Yes, yes, I know, languages are living things and English itself is made up of many other languages (more specifically, 28% French, 28% Latin, 25% Germanic, 5% Greek, etc) but if it was anything like what’s happening to the Portuguese language, I wouldn’t have liked it either.

</rant>

13 thoughts on “LFB – Oh, Great…”Black Friday”

    • Thanks, Yuri!

      I realize it’s not easy to come up with Portuguese terms for people who work with tech but each American/English word I hear gaining acceptance here is like a bullet to the heart of the language I love. Although, if the idea is to get radical, there’s always the Policarpo Quaresma way (where we all revert to Tupi-Guarani!)

  1. I saw the black friday on sites like americanas,com, saraiva.com.br. It’s so lame! I havent heard Brazilians talking about Black Friday, and I dont see the point if we dont celebrate Thanksgiving. I am not suprised if people start doing it in a few years, like htey do with halloween..

    • I’ve heard a few Brazilians talking about it but only because they probably saw it on one of those sites you mentioned. Even the article about maids in Brazil which I linked to in the post, it talks at the end about the American way of life coming here.

      • The influence of American culture is not new either. The maid thing is not related to Americans per se, but to the economic development.

  2. The word “freela” is not new at all – I can remember it being used more than 10 years ago (at least in Sao Paulo). Now, I can’t say the same about this nasal accent you’re picking up. It could be something new but it sounds more like a Carioca accent.

    • Good to know. I first heard it in the later half of this year but, yeah, anglicisms tend to hurt my ears. The nasal part might just be people knowing the whole word and adding an invisible “n” to the end, making it “freelan” which makes it sound like it ends with “ã”.

      Surely, Brazilians would find it annoying if I started saying “Trabalho em ca.. E vo..? Que le…! lol

      • Only because you would be shortening the wrong words! :)

        Short versions are very common in informal Brazilian Portuguese. For example, no one would have a problem if you signed your posts as “tudobelê”.

      • The term freelance or freela is not new. I already used to hear this word when I was in college, and I graduated almost 10 years ago. I’m from Rio and I never thought of the word freela being pronounced nasally. We difer the sounds of freela and freelã (the latter doesnt exist).

  3. It’s interesting to point out that even having a shortened word, it doesnt mean everybody say it. Most people don’t say refri or freela.

  4. hahahhaha

    During the Euro 2012 the commentators called Damien Duff ‘Damien Duff-y’. It was a missed opportunity that Ireland didn’t have an actual ‘Duffy’ in the squad. My money was on a ‘Duff’ pronunciation.

Leave a Reply

