Do a new Brazil blog? Let me know!

After several quick attempts with Brazil-related blogs (since Eyes on Brazil), I’m looking for a few good folks to see my new endeavor and give me their opinion. Can you help me? Feel free to tell me what you think here (or there). If enough people like it, I’ll be sure to spruce it up, too.

[BR Briefs – link removed]

Essentially, I post 5 interesting items per weekday, no matter if the sourced information is in Portuguese or English, and I summarize them or make snippets in both languages. It’s sort of like Digg (format-wise) and sort of like Brazil Character Lab (though I post less). I also mostly stay away from politics and violence.

Thanks!

PS – I tried it out and while I personally enjoyed it, I found the barrier to get readers is much higher than it was when I started Eyes On Brazil in 2008.

8 thoughts on “Do a new Brazil blog? Let me know!

  1. Yes, yes, and yes! I’m a Portuguese translator and teacher in the US and I just love languages. I think the more sites/blogs media we have out there the better for people interested in languages. Each person has a unique style and way to describe their learning process. I like your spontaneous way to write and how you describe your Brazilian culture point of view. Keep going…

    • Thank you, Adriana! Very kind of you. It’s hard to stop caring about Brazil once it gets under your skin and into your blood (even more so, now that I’m far away in Lisbon). For a while I had a hard time deciding if I should do something in English or Portuguese but with summaries/snippets, I can do both! ; )

  2. Snippets of Brazil. Yes, bring it on! Great idea, especially if it’s not focused on violence and politics, which is so much of what we hear out of Brazil. You could see it as a kind of crônica semanal.

  3. Thank you for such a refreshing view of life in Brazil. I live here and find your duo lingo descriptions super use full in the agonizing path to learn Brazilian Portuguese.Please keep this style of refreshing journalism alive, it is so welcome and educational, Para bems!! A job well done!

  4. Hi Adam,
    I just discovered eyes on brazil today.Very good stuff! I’m an American living in Brazil since 2010, I’m fluent in Portuguese and I share many of the sentiments I read today on your blog.

    I also read on Streetsmartbrazil.com that you dream of owning a b&b in northeast Brazil one day, that is my dream as well and I am well on my way to making that happen. I think we should connect and throw some ideas around regarding the blog, sites, brazil and this b&b. Please e mail me or get in touch with me via my site, https://www.brazilvacation.travel/

Leave a Reply

